73 brokers measured in Indiabroker data checked 27.08.2026
Kotak SecuritiesKotak Securities Ltd

Kotak Securities in India — review, licence and costs

Written and checked by the Rupee Desk editorial team · how we score ·  score recalculated 01.10.2026
yesAccepts residents of IndiaOpened by Kotak Securities (India) Pvt. Ltd., register checked 09.07.2026

Score (3 of 6 axes scored)

—/ 5.0

shown, not ranked: only 40% of the weight has data, need 55%

  • Safety20%100
  • Track record10%no data
  • Platforms10%0

Numbered by weight: axis 1 counts for most.

2 + 3 × 0.751 = 4.25 · axes on 0–100, total on 2.0–5.0

Key facts (4 facts)

Onboarding entity
Kotak Securities Ltd
Founded
1994
Currencies
INR.
Swap-free account
no

Licence check

SEBI · Stock broker registration
No licence number published for Indiachecked 09.07.2026sebi.gov.in
Open an account with Kotak Securities

The broker's own website. Not a partner link — we earn nothing from it.

Screenshot of the Kotak Securities website
Kotak Securities's own site, captured for this review (06.10.2026)

Who actually onboards you

Entity that onboards India residents
Kotak Securities Ltd
Local standing
SEBI-regulated domestic full-service/discount broker (bank-backed).
Licence as the register states it
SEBI-registered stock broker, Portfolio Manager and Research Analyst; NSE/BSE/MCX/NCDEX member; CDSL/NSDL DP. Exact reg no not verified at review.
Leverage for this entity
Intraday per SEBI peak-margin rules; MTF on delivery. Exact multiples not verified at review.
The firm behind it
Kotak Securities est. 1994; broking arm of Kotak Mahindra Bank; rebranded app to Kotak Neo.
What we hold against it
Large bank-backed broker; fee structure revised Nov 2024 (intraday now charged). No major SEBI action verified.

Leverage by entity

The licence belongs to the firm; a leverage figure belongs to one entity. Only the entity that onboards Indian residents enters the score.

The entity that onboards youKotak Securities LtdLocal or offshore not stated in the source · SEBI licence

Intraday per SEBI peak-margin rules; MTF on delivery. Exact multiples not verified at review.

—IN
India median, local entities: 1:50 · 18 of 20 stated

Scale from 1:10 to 1:3000, logarithmic.

Client protection

  • Local entity onboards youSEBI-regulated domestic full-service/discount broker (bank-backed).
  • Regulator warning on filenone found

— means the broker does not state it in any source we captured. It is not read as “no protection” and it is not scored.

Accounts

Account types the broker names for this country: Demat+Trading, Trade Free Plan, Trade Free Max, Trade Free Youth, Advantage/dealer-assisted plans. The figures below are the broker's own and do not differ by account in any source we captured.

Swap-free account terms

Terms read from the account page on 01.10.2026. The cap on open positions is not published.

Where Kotak Securities sits in the India base(90 brokers)

Round-turn cost, USD (65 of 90 priced)

1<2.5
125
317.5
710
612.5
415
4>15

Median 7 USD · range 2-18 · 25 of 90 brokers do not publish it

Minimum deposit, USD (16 of 90 priced)

15<200
0400
0600
0800
1>800

Median 15 USD · range 0-1000 · 74 of 90 brokers do not publish it

Retail leverage (49 of 90 with a India figure)

29<1k
102k
63k
34k
1>4k

Median 1:500 · range 20-5000 · 41 of 90 brokers do not publish it

Withdrawal time published (90 brokers)

6of 73
Published, hours6not published38Kotak Securities is one of the 6

Payouts(1 method)

MethodDeposit, hWithdrawal, hFee, USDMin, USD
UPI24—050

Deposit and withdrawal methods (1 methods · 1 local)

UPI, net-banking (Kotak and other banks).

  • UPIlocal
Account currency
INR.
Fee declared
1 of 1 methods
Withdrawal back to
the funding method

Where it does not serve(1 countries)

—

From the client agreement, clause 2.3. A country missing from a translated page is not read as “served”.

Platforms and markets(4 platforms)

The platform page on the Kotak Securities website
The platform page on Kotak Securities's own site, captured for this review (06.10.2026)
  • Kotak Neo app
  • Kotak Neo web
  • KEAT ProX terminal
  • Fastlane

Reviews(1 platform · 25% of the score)

3.9/ 5
Trustpilot rating
22
reviews
04.10.2026
snapshot, 2026
SnapshotRatingReviews
04.10.20263.922

Share of reviewers in India: — The platform does not publish it.

Pros and cons(3 for and 4 against, each tied to a figure on this page)

For
  • Authorised by the India regulator in its own register
  • Safety 100 of 100, its strongest of 3 scored axes
  • 4 platforms: Kotak Neo app, Kotak Neo web, KEAT ProX terminal, Fastlane
Against
  • Round-turn cost not priced: the pair of spread and commission is not published
  • Withdrawal time not published
  • Platforms 0 of 100, its weakest of 3 scored axes
  • Not scored on reviews, round-turn cost, payouts: the broker publishes no figure we could read

Alternatives in India(6 of 90 scored in India)

4.14
Interactive Brokers
Locally licensed
Round turn, USD
5IN
Min deposit, USD
0 groupIN
Rank in this country
#2
4.01
Finvasia
Locally licensed
Round turn, USD
4IN
Rank in this country
#4
3.78
Forex.com
Licensed elsewhere
Round turn, USD
10IN
Min deposit, USD
100 groupIN
Rank in this country
#21
3.49
Saxo Bank
Licensed elsewhere
Round turn, USD
9IN
Min deposit, USD
0 groupIN
Rank in this country
#44
3.4
OANDA
Licensed elsewhere
Round turn, USD
6IN
Rank in this country
#49
3.82
BlackBull Markets
Licensed elsewhere
Round turn, USD
6IN
Min deposit, USD
0 groupIN
Leverage
500IN
Rank in this country
#15

"group" marks a figure the broker publishes for the group rather than for this country. It is shown because the broker states it, and it is not ranked, averaged or used to sort.

Methodology(6 axes · formula v1.0)

Score = 2 + 3 × weighted mean of six axes scored 0–100. Range 2.0–5.0. An axis without data drops out and the remaining weights are renormalised; it is never scored zero or estimated. Group-wide figures never enter a India score. Full methodology

AxisWeightWhat is measuredKotak Securities
Reviews25%Rating, volume and recency on one public review platform—
Round-turn cost20%Round turn on 1 lot EURUSD: spread plus commission, against the country median—
Safety20%Local authorisation, the entity that onboards you, any regulator warning100
Payouts15%Published withdrawal time, fees and the methods available in the country—
Track record10%Years since the firm was founded, from its own filings100
Platforms10%Which trading platforms the broker confirms for this country0

FAQ

Does Kotak Securities accept residents of India?
Yes. SEBI-regulated domestic full-service/discount broker (bank-backed). Onboarding entity: Kotak Securities Ltd
Is Kotak Securities licensed to serve clients in India?
SEBI-registered stock broker, Portfolio Manager and Research Analyst; NSE/BSE/MCX/NCDEX member; CDSL/NSDL DP. Exact reg no not verified at review. Checked on 09.07.2026.
Which trading platforms does Kotak Securities support?
Kotak Neo app, Kotak Neo web, KEAT ProX terminal, Fastlane. Instruments: Equity delivery/intraday, F&O, currency, commodity, mutual funds, IPO, bonds.
How can I withdraw money from Kotak Securities in India?
UPI, net-banking (Kotak and other banks).
What account types does Kotak Securities offer?
Demat+Trading; Trade Free Plan, Trade Free Max, Trade Free Youth, Advantage/dealer-assisted plans.
Does Kotak Securities offer a swap-free (Islamic) account?
No. Kotak Securities publishes no swap-free (Islamic) account for India.

Verified · Sources

Verified01.10.2026
next review 01.01.2027