73 brokers measured in Indiabroker data checked 27.08.2026
Interactive Brokers logoInteractive BrokersPrivate Limited

Interactive Brokers in India — review, licence and costs

Written and checked by the Rupee Desk editorial team · how we score ·  score recalculated 01.10.2026
yesAccepts residents of IndiaOpened by Interactive Brokers (India) Pvt. Ltd., SEBI licence INZ000217730, register checked 09.07.2026

Score (6 of 6 axes scored)

4.14/ 5.0

ranked against full-basis brokers

  • Reviews25%50
  • Round-turn cost20%100
  • Safety20%no data
  • Payouts15%60
  • Track record10%no data
  • Platforms10%0

Numbered by weight: axis 1 counts for most.

2 + 3 × 0.713 = 4.14 · axes on 0–100, total on 2.0–5.0

Key facts (5 facts)

Onboarding entity
Private Limited
Founded
1977
Round turn
5 USDIN
Currencies
INR for domestic account.
Swap-free account
no

"group" marks a figure the broker publishes for the group rather than for this country. It is shown because the broker states it, and it is not ranked, averaged or used to sort.

Licence check

SEBI Reg. INZ000217730; NSE & BSE member; NSDL depository IN-DP-NSDL-301-2008.
INZ000217730
Number listed on the registerchecked 09.07.2026sebi.gov.in
Open an account with Interactive Brokers

The broker's own website. Not a partner link — we earn nothing from it.

Screenshot of the Interactive Brokers website
Interactive Brokers's own site, captured for this review (06.10.2026)

Who actually onboards you

Entity that onboards India residents
Private Limited
Local standing
Fully domestically regulated (SEBI/NSE/BSE). Indian residents & NRIs served locally.
Licence as the register states it
SEBI Reg. INZ000217730; NSE & BSE member; NSDL depository IN-DP-NSDL-301-2008.
Leverage for this entity
SEBI-regulated margins (intraday/derivative margins per exchange); no offshore FX/CFD leverage. DMA only.
The firm behind it
Founded 1978; NASDAQ-listed; IB India is SEBI-registered member.
What we hold against it
Legitimate SEBI-registered broker; paper-based onboarding historically noted as cumbersome.

Leverage by entity

The licence belongs to the firm; a leverage figure belongs to one entity. Only the entity that onboards Indian residents enters the score.

The entity that onboards youPrivate LimitedLocal or offshore not stated in the source · SEBI licence

SEBI-regulated margins (intraday/derivative margins per exchange); no offshore FX/CFD leverage. DMA only.

—IN
India median, local entities: 1:50 · 18 of 20 stated

Scale from 1:10 to 1:3000, logarithmic.

Client protection

  • Local entity onboards youFully domestically regulated (SEBI/NSE/BSE). Indian residents & NRIs served locally.
  • Regulator warning on filenone found

— means the broker does not state it in any source we captured. It is not read as “no protection” and it is not scored.

Price against India market median(priced from 65 of 90)

Round turn, 1 lot EURUSD, spread plus commission, USD
Interactive Brokers, raw spread plus commission5
India median, all 65 priced7
India median, the 52 priced on the raw spread plus commission6

Medians run over the 65 of 90 brokers that publish a price for India, never over the whole base. A spread without its commission is not a price and is not counted.

Accounts

Account types the broker names for this country: NSE/BSE trading + demat account, age 21+, USD 100 (INR equiv) for market-data subscription. The figures below are the broker's own and do not differ by account in any source we captured.

Swap-free account terms

Terms read from the account page on 01.10.2026. The cap on open positions is not published.

Where Interactive Brokers sits in the India base(90 brokers)

Round-turn cost, USD (65 of 90 priced)

1<2.5
125
317.5
710
612.5
415
4>15

Median 7 USD · range 2-18 · this broker 5 USD · 25 of 90 brokers do not publish it

Minimum deposit, USD (16 of 90 priced)

15<200
0400
0600
0800
1>800

Median 15 USD · range 0-1000 · this broker 0 USD · 74 of 90 brokers do not publish it

Retail leverage (49 of 90 with a India figure)

29<1k
102k
63k
34k
1>4k

Median 1:500 · range 20-5000 · 41 of 90 brokers do not publish it

Withdrawal time published (90 brokers)

6of 73
Published, hours6not published38Interactive Brokers is one of the 6

Payouts(1 method)

MethodDeposit, hWithdrawal, hFee, USDMin, USD
Indian bank transfer24—050

Deposit and withdrawal methods (1 methods · 0 local rails)

Indian bank transfer (NEFT/RTGS);

  • Indian bank transfer
Account currency
INR for domestic account.
Fee declared
1 of 1 methods
Withdrawal back to
the funding method

Where it does not serve(6 countries)

United StatesCanadaIranNorth KoreaLibyaSyria

From the client agreement, clause 2.3. A country missing from a translated page is not read as “served”.

Platforms and markets(5 platforms)

The platform page on the Interactive Brokers website
The platform page on Interactive Brokers's own site, captured for this review (06.10.2026)
  • TWS
  • IBKR mobile
  • GlobalTrader
  • API
ClassCountMin spread
TWS—0.1
IBKR mobile—0.1
GlobalTrader—0.1
API—0.1
Forex pairs100+—

138 further account types are named by their brokers but publish none of these figures, so they are not in the comparison: Eightcap Standard, Eightcap Raw, Fusion Markets Classic account, Pepperstone Standard, Pepperstone no minimum deposit, Trade Nation Two live tiers - lower-leverage and 132 more.

Reviews(1 platform · 25% of the score)

4.0/ 5
Trustpilot rating
—
reviews
02.10.2026
snapshot, 2026
SnapshotRatingReviews
02.10.20264.0—

Share of reviewers in India: — The platform does not publish it.

Pros and cons(5 for and 1 against, each tied to a figure on this page)

For
  • Round turn 5 USD on the raw + commission basis, under the India median 7
  • Locally authorised, licence INZ000217730, read on 09.07.2026
  • Min deposit 0 USD, under the India median 15
  • Round-turn cost 100 of 100, its strongest of 6 scored axes
  • 4 platforms: TWS, IBKR mobile, GlobalTrader, API
Against
  • Platforms 0 of 100, its weakest of 6 scored axes

Alternatives in India(6 of 90 scored in India)

4.01
Finvasia
Locally licensed
Round turn, USD
4IN
Rank in this country
#4
4.06
Fusion Markets
Licensed elsewhere
Round turn, USD
4.5IN
Min deposit, USD
0IN
Leverage
500IN
Rank in this country
#3
3.82
BlackBull Markets
Licensed elsewhere
Round turn, USD
6IN
Min deposit, USD
0 groupIN
Leverage
500IN
Rank in this country
#15
3.4
RoboForex
Licensed elsewhere
Round turn, USD
4IN
Min deposit, USD
10 groupIN
Leverage
2000IN
Rank in this country
#48
3.9
JustMarkets
Licensed elsewhere
Round turn, USD
6IN
Min deposit, USD
10IN
Leverage
3000IN
Rank in this country
#11
3.34
FXGT
Licensed elsewhere
Round turn, USD
14IN
Min deposit, USD
5 groupIN
Leverage
5000IN
Rank in this country
#51

Methodology(6 axes · formula v1.0)

Score = 2 + 3 × weighted mean of six axes scored 0–100. Range 2.0–5.0. An axis without data drops out and the remaining weights are renormalised; it is never scored zero or estimated. Group-wide figures never enter a India score. Full methodology

AxisWeightWhat is measuredInteractive Brokers
Reviews25%Rating, volume and recency on one public review platform50
Round-turn cost20%Round turn on 1 lot EURUSD: spread plus commission, against the country median100
Safety20%Local authorisation, the entity that onboards you, any regulator warning100
Payouts15%Published withdrawal time, fees and the methods available in the country60
Track record10%Years since the firm was founded, from its own filings100
Platforms10%Which trading platforms the broker confirms for this country0

FAQ

Does Interactive Brokers accept residents of India?
Yes. Fully domestically regulated (SEBI/NSE/BSE). Indian residents & NRIs served locally. Onboarding entity: Private Limited
Is Interactive Brokers licensed to serve clients in India?
SEBI Reg. INZ000217730; NSE & BSE member; NSDL depository IN-DP-NSDL-301-2008. Checked on 09.07.2026.
How much does one round turn cost at Interactive Brokers?
About 5.0 USD per standard lot on EUR/USD. The median across brokers measured for India is 7.0 USD.
Which trading platforms does Interactive Brokers support?
TWS, IBKR mobile, GlobalTrader, API. Instruments: NSE/BSE stocks (demat), F&O; overseas markets via separate overseas account (LRS).
How can I withdraw money from Interactive Brokers in India?
Indian bank transfer (NEFT/RTGS); PAN mandatory.
What account types does Interactive Brokers offer?
NSE/BSE trading + demat account; age 21+; USD 100 (INR equiv) for market-data subscription.
Does Interactive Brokers offer a swap-free (Islamic) account?
No. Interactive Brokers publishes no swap-free (Islamic) account for India.

Cost calculator (median of 65 priced of 90)

Interactive Brokers, per month100.00 USD
India median, per month140.00 USD

EURUSD round turns at the prices captured 01.10.2026. Shown in USD only: we do not publish a INR conversion because the exchange rate is not part of our data.

Verified · Sources

Verified01.10.2026
next review 01.01.2027